Oregon passed soil conservation district legislation in 1939 organizing the Oregon Soil Conservation Committee. This committee is now called the Soil and Water Conservation Commission. Its responsibility is to provide direction and assistance to individual districts and help coordinate their efforts.

The South Tillamook Soil Conservation District was the first district formed in Oregon. It was officially  organized on Feb, 10, 1940. Since then, many other districts have formed, consolidated with other districts, redefined their boundaries and now are represented in every county of the state. Today there are 45 districts in Oregon, with Douglas, Grant, Josephine, Lake, Lane and Multnomah Counties having two districts each while Baker County has four.